CITEC Coordinator Helge Ritter New Member of DFG Senate

Helge Ritter has served as coordinator of the Cluster of Excellence CITEC since 2007.Since the early 1990s, Dr. Ritter has been a professor in the Faculty of Technology at Bielefeld University, where he heads the Neuroinformatics research group. Dr. Ritter has also served as coordinator of the Cluster of Excellence Cognitive Interaction Technology (CITEC) since its founding in 2007. The Leibniz-prizewinner is also the director of the Research Institute for Cognition and Robotics (CoR-Lab) at Bielefeld University. Ritter has been a full member of the Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste (North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts) since 2010, and was elected a member of the Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech, National Academy of Science and Engineering) in 2014.

The DFG is the largest funding institution and central self-governing organization for research in Germany. Following the principles determined at the annual general assembly, the DFG Senate advises and makes decisions on all important affairs of the DFG, unless otherwise reserved for the Joint Committee. The Senate is thus responsible for all major decisions in research funding prior to concrete funding decisions, as well as for all significant decisions relating to the organization of advisory, assessment, and decision-making processes. A total of 39 members belong to the Senate, and of these members, 36 are elected by the general assembly. These members also serve as scientific members of the Joint Committee.      

More information is available online at:

Seven New Members Elected to DFG Senate (press release from 5 July 2017):