Videos

CITEC researchers not only publish their work via scientific articles or at conferences - they do also present it in videos. These films illustrate how the teams are proceeding and which methods and research question they are using.

Videos on the Cluster of Excellence can be seen in the CITEC Youtube Channel This overview shows a selection of videos on CITEC.

Sonification: Improving Swim Technique by Ear

CITEC researchers have developed a system that elite swimmers can use to optimize their technique. The system enhances athletes’ perception by allowing them to hear, in real time, how the flow of the water changes as they swim through it. Bielefeld University’s “research_tv” reports on this innovation.

ICSpace: Training Movement in Virtual Reality

A new system in a virtual coaching room helps people practice and improve physical exercises and other motor actions. Six research groups at Bielefeld University’s Cluster of Excellence Cognitive Interaction Technology (CITEC) are working on such a virtual training room in the large-scale CITEC project ICSpace. Bielefeld University’s “research_tv” reports on this innovation.

Floka the Social Robot – A Companion in the Apartment of the Future

Floka is the name of the new service robot at the Cluster of Excellence CITEC. Floka is outfitted with a new “social” robot head, which was developed at CITEC. The robot’s facial expressions can convey happiness, worry, curiosity, or anger. In this video, researchers from the Cluster of Excellence explain how Floka lends a hand in the apartment as a social companion.

Hector – A Robotic Stick Insect Learns to Walk

Researchers on the large-scale CITEC project Eicci have succeeded in teaching a one-of-a-kind robot to walk. Hector the robot’s construction is modelled after a stick insect, inspired by the insect’s passive-elastic joints and its extremely lightweight exoskeleton. What makes Hector so unique is that in addition to the many sensors the robot is equipped with, it also works with a decentralized controlling concept called Walknet.

This overview shows a selection of videos on CITEC. For more Videos please visit the CITEC Youtube Channel

Videos

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Exzellenzclusters CITEC stellen ihre Entwicklungen und Analysen nicht alleine in Forschungsartikeln und auf Konferenzen vor - sie präsentieren ihre Arbeit auch mit Videos. Die Filme zeigen anschaulich, wie die Teams vorgehen und welche Methoden und Forschungsprototypen sie einsetzen.

Videofilme zu dem Cluster sind im CITEC-Youtube-Kanal zu sehen. Diese Übersicht präsentiert eine Auswahl von Videos zu CITEC.

Sonifikation: Durch Hören die Schwimmtechnik verbessern

CITEC-Forscherinnen und -Forscher haben ein System entwickelt, mit dem Profischwimmer ihre Technik optimieren können. Das System erweitert die Wahrnehmung der Athleten: Es lässt sie in Echtzeit hören, wie sich der Strömungsdruck verändert, den die Sportler durch ihre Schwimmbewegung erzeugen. "research_tv" der Universität Bielefeld berichtet über die Entwicklung.

ICSpace: Bewegung trainieren in der virtuellen Realität

Ein neues System in einem virtuellen Raum hilft, Sportbewegungen und andere motorische Handlungen einzuüben und zu verbessern: Sechs Forschungsgruppen des Exzellenzclusters Kognitive Interaktionstechnologie (CITEC) der Universität Bielefeld arbeiten in dem CITEC-Großprojekt ICSpace an solch einem virtuellen Trainingsraum. "research_tv" der Universität Bielefeld berichtet über die Entwicklung.

Der soziale Roboter Floka - ein Gefährte in der Wohnung der Zukunft

Floka heißt der neue Serviceroboter des Exzellenzclusters CITEC. Er ist mit einem neuen „sozialen“ Roboterkopf ausgestattet, der am CITEC entwickelt wurde. Dessen Mimik kann Freude, Kummer, Neugierde oder Ärger ausdrücken. In diesem Video erklären Forscher des Exzellenzclusters, wie Floka als sozialer Gefährte in der Wohnung zur Hand geht.

Hector - Eine Roboter-Stabheuschrecke lernt laufen

Forschenden dem CITEC-Großprojekt Eicci ist es gelungen, einem weltweit einmaligen Roboter das Laufen beizubringen. "Hector" ist nach dem Vorbild einer Stabheuschrecke konstruiert. Inspiriert von dem Insekt hat er passiv-elastische Gelenke und ein extrem leichtes Außenskelett. Einzigartig macht ihn, dass er zudem mit sehr vielen Sensoren ausgestattet ist und mit einem biologischen, dezentralen Regelungskonzept arbeitet, dem Walknet.