Natalia Reich-Stiebert, M.Ed.

CITEC Center of Excellence Cognitive Interaction TechnologyNatalia Reich
Research building
Inspiration 1 / Zehlendorfer Damm 199
33619 Bielefeld

 

Room: 2.221
Phone: +49 (0)521 106-12133
Email: nreich'at'cit-ec.uni-bielefeld.de
Office hours: on appointment (via Email)

 

About me

Since February 2014, I am a PhD student in the ‘Applied Social Psychology and Gender Research’ group and I am a member of the CITEC Graduate School. I received my Bachelor and Master’s degree in Psychology and Romanic Philology (M.Ed.) from the TU Dortmund University.

 

Research interests 

  • Social robotics
  • Attitudes toward robots
  • Robots in education
  • Cooperative human-robot learning
  • Gender stereotypes and human-robot learning

 

PhD project

My PhD project focuses on the evaluation, acceptance, and applicability of robots in educational contexts. The primary purpose is to explore students’ and teachers’ – the future users of educational robots – attitudes regarding the prospect of having educational robots integrated into learning contexts. Moreover, my project aims at investigating effects of cooperative human-robot learning on the individuals’ motivational state, on objective criteria (e.g., learning performance), and on the subjective evaluation of the robot and the interaction. Particularly, my research project aims at investigating factors that are necessary for successful cooperative learning with educational robots. These include, among others, social interdependence with robots, robot embodiment, or the impact of gender stereotypes on learning with robots.

 

Media presence.

"The gender of robots". Is it important for a robot to have a male or female appearance? Researchers have found out that people tend to apply familiar clichés about gender roles to robots as well. Interview for DW Science, April 2017.
http://www.dw.com/en/the-gender-of-robots/av-38540920

 

 

 
 
Teaching

Summer semester 2015

  • Berühmte sozialpsychologische Experimente und Phänomene und ihre Umsetzung in Filmen (Seminar)

Natalia Reich-Stiebert, M.Ed.

Natalia ReichCITEC Center of Excellence Cognitive Interaction Technology
Forschungsbau
Inspiration 1 / Zehlendorfer Damm 199
33619 Bielefeld

 

Ich bin vom 18. November 2017 bis voraussichtlich 01. Juli 2018 in Elternzeit.

 

Raum: 2.221
Telefon: +49 (0)521 106-12133
E-mail: nreich'at'cit-ec.uni-bielefeld.de
Sprechzeiten: nach Vereinbarung (via Email)

 

Über mich

Seit April 2014 bin ich Doktorandin in der Arbeitseinheit ‘Angewandte Sozialpsychologie und Geschlechterforschung’ sowie Promotionsstipendiatin der CITEC Graduiertenschule. Ich habe meinen Bachelor- und Masterabschluss in den Fächern Psychologie und Romanische Philologie (M.Ed.) an der Technischen Universität Dortmund absolviert.

Forschungsinteressen

  • Soziale Robotik
  • Einstellungen zu Robotern
  • Roboter in der Bildung
  • Kooperatives Mensch-Roboter Lernen
  • Geschlechterstereotype und Mensch-Roboter Lernen

Promotionsprojekt

Mein Promotionsprojekt beschäftigt sich mit der Evaluation, Akzeptanz und Einsetzbarkeit von Robotern in Bildungskontexten. Zum einen möchte ich untersuchen welche Einstellungen Studierende, SchülerInnen und LehrerInnen als zukünftige Endnutzer hinsichtlich des möglichen Einsatzes von Lernrobotern in unterschiedlichen Lernkontexten haben. Darüber hinaus zielt mein Vorhaben darauf ab, die Auswirkungen von kooperativem Mensch-Roboter Lernen auf die Motivation von Individuen, auf objektive Kriterien (z.B. Lernleistung) sowie auf subjektive Faktoren wie die Bewertung des Roboters und der Lerninteraktion näher zu erforschen. Insbesondere möchte ich in meinem Promotionsvorhaben Faktoren in den Blick nehmen, die für erfolgreiches kooperatives Lernen mit Lernrobotern von Bedeutung sind. Dazu gehören unter anderem soziale Interdependenz beim Lernen mit Robotern, Embodiment oder der Einfluss von Geschlechterstereotypen auf das Lernen mit Robotern. 

 

Medienpräsenz

"Das Geschlecht der Roboter". Ist es wichtig, ob Roboter ein männliches oder weibliches Aussehen haben? Forscher haben herausgefunden, dass Menschen auch gegenüber Robotern dazu neigen, gängige Klischeevorstellungen anzuwenden. Interview bei Deutsche Welle "Projekt Zukunft", April 2017.
http://www.dw.com/de/tv/projekt-zukunft/s-3210
 

 
Lehre

Sommersemester 2015

  • Berühmte sozialpsychologische Experimente und Phänomene und ihre Umsetzung in Filmen (Seminar)