Mag. Julian Anslinger

CITEC Center of Excellence Cognitive Interaction Technology
Research building
Inspiration 1 / Zehlendorfer Damm 199
33619 Bielefeld


Room: 2.219
Phone: +49 (0)521 106-12114
Email: janslinger'at'
Office hours: on appointment (via Email)



About me

Since February 2016 I have been working as a research assistant and doctoral student in the work group 'Applied Social Psychology and Gender Research' at CITEC, where I am researching into sexism, sexual objectification, threat and defense.

Prior to my research at CITEC I worked as a research assistant in social psychology at the Karl-Franzens-University Graz (Austria). At that time, one of the research topics I focused on was the relationship between sexism and system-justification. After a two-months research visit at the Brown University (USA) I finished my Diploma Studies in psychology at the University of Graz in March 2014. Since October 2011 I have been a member of the scientific workgroup Queer STS, which is working on queer perspectives in and on Science and Technology Studies.


My PhD project

My PhD project deals with the topic of sexual objectification. Sexual objectification can be understood as the act of reducing a person to his or her body and/or to instrumentalize her as sexual resource (Bartky, 1990). With my PhD project, I aim to research into the reasons why people sexual objectify others. It is assumed, that sexual objectification can fulfil functions on an individual, interpersonal and societal level. For instance, experiments show, that men whose masculinity has been threatened (e.g. questioned), objectify women to a greater extent in order to feel masculine again. Which other functions sexual objectification fulfils, and if or how it contributes to sustain power structures, are central questions of my PhD project.


Research interests

·         Sexual Objectification
·         Sexism
·         Threat and Defense
·         Self-Enhancement
·         System-Justification
·         Queer Science and Technology Studies





Summer term 2017 (Bielefeld University)

  • From Sex to Sexism - Social Psychological Gender Research (Seminar)

Winter term 2016/2017 (Bielefeld University)

  • The categories gender and sex - origin, meaning and implications (Seminar)

Summer term 2015 (University of Graz, Austria)

  • Computer Application of Statistics (Seminar)
  • Queer-feminist Science and Technology Studies. Session about gender knowledge in neuro science (Lecture)

Mag. Julian Anslinger

CITEC Center of Excellence Cognitive Interaction Technology
Forschungsbau
Inspiration 1 / Zehlendorfer Damm 199
33619 Bielefeld

 

Raum: 2.219
Telefon: +49 (0)521 106-12114
E-mail: janslinger'at'cit-ec.uni-bielefeld.de
Sprechzeiten: nach Vereinbarung (via E-mail)

 

 

Über mich

Seit Februar 2016 bin ich wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand in der Arbeitseinheit “Angewandte Sozialpsychologie und Geschlechterforschung” am CITEC, wo ich zu Sexismus, sexueller Objektifizierung, Bedrohung und Bedrohungsabwehr forsche.

Vor meiner Anstellung am CITEC war ich für fünfzehn Monate als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Bereich Sozialpsychologie an der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz (Österreich) tätig und forschte unter anderem zum Zusammenhang von Sexismus und dem Bedürfnis nach System-Erhaltung. Mein Diplomstudium in Psychologie schloss ich nach einem zweimonatigen Forschungsaufenthalt an der Brown University (USA) im März 2014 an der Universität Graz ab. Seit Oktober 2011 bin ich Mitglied der wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgruppe Queer STS, die zu queeren Perspektiven in und aus der Technik- und Wissenschaftsforschung arbeitet.

 

Mein Promotionsprojekt

Mein Promotionsprojekt behandelt das Thema sexuelle Versachlichung oder auch Objektifizierung. Sexuelle Objektifizierung wird verstanden als der Akt, eine Person auf ihren Körper zu reduzieren und/oder sie als sexuelle Ressource zu instrumentalisieren (vgl. Bartky, 1990). In meiner Promotion untersuche ich die Gründe, aus denen Menschen ihre Mitmenschen sexuell objektifizieren. Es kann angenommen werden, dass sexuelle Objektifizierung Funktionen auf individueller, interpersoneller und gesellschaftlicher Ebene erfüllt. Beispielsweise kann in Experimenten gezeigt werden, dass viele Männer, deren Männlichkeit bedroht (z.B. in Frage gestellt) wurde, Frauen stärker sexuell objektifizieren, damit sie sich daraufhin wieder männlicher fühlen. Welche Funktionen sexuelle Objektifizierung darüber hinaus erfüllen kann und ob bzw. wie sie dazu beiträgt, Machtverhältnisse aufrechtzuerhalten, sind zentrale Fragen meines Promotionsprojekts.

 

Forschungsinteressen

·         Sexuelle Objektifizierung
·         Sexismus
·         Threat and Defense
·         Self-Enhancement
·         System-Justification
·         Queer Science and Technology Studies

 

 

 

Lehre

Sommersemester 2017 (Universität Bielefeld)

  • Von Sex bis Sexismus - Grundlagen sozialpsychologischer Geschlechterforschung (Seminar)

Wintersemester 2016/2017 (Universität Bielefeld)

  • Kategorie Geschlecht - Herkunft, Bedeutung und Folgen (Seminar)

Sommersemester 2015 (Karl-Franzens Universität, Graz)

  • Anwendung statistischer Verfahren am Computer (Seminar)
  • Queer-feministische Technik- und Wissenschaftsforschung,
    Einheit zu Geschlechterwissen in der Hirnforschung (Vorlesung)