Jasmin Bernotat, M.Sc.

CITEC Center for Cognitive Interaction Technology
Research building
Inspiration 1 / Zehlendorfer Damm 199
33619 Bielefeld

 

 

Room: 2.219
Phone: +49 (0)521 106-12114
Email: jbernotat'at'cit-ec.uni-bielefeld.de
Office hours: on appointment (via Email)

 

About me

Since September 2015 I am a scientific employee and doctoral student in the work group “Applied Social Psychology and Gender Research Lab”. I work in projects “Cognitive Service Robotics Apartment as Ambient Host” (CSRA) and “Experimental Psychologic Gender Research”. I did my Bachelor degree (2012) and Master degree (2015) in Psychology at Bielefeld University. During my Master degree, I worked as a research assistant in the “Language & Cognition” work group at CITEC and in the project “Social mobilization strategies in the field of climate protection policy” at Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences.

 

My doctoral project

My doctoral project is at an interplay between gender research, psycholinguistics, and social robotics. Using the eye tracking method, more precisely the visual-world-paradigm (Cooper, 1974), I investigate how gender stereotypes impact language processing. According to the visual-world-paradigm, people look to what they listen. What people listen to and what they actually understand is influenced by their general world knowledge and by stereotypes. Thus, expectedly people look toward a male character depicted besides a female character as soon as they listen to a stereotypical male adverb (e.g., competent), even before it is known from the sentence to whom this adverb refers (see Bernotat, Guerra, Bohner, & Eyssel, 2016). On one hand, I investigate if gendered adverbs influence participants’ gaze-direction. On the other hand, using the visual-world-paradigm I investigate if robots are associated with gender, gendered tasks, and professions, and if the same gender stereotypes are activated toward robots than toward humans.

 

My work in the „Cognitive Service Robotics Apartment as Ambient Host“ (CSRA)

CSRA is an interdisciplinary research project in which computer scientists, linguists, and psychologists work together to implement an intelligent apartment lab. I represent the evaluation group which investigates how users intuitively interact with an intelligent environment, which control systems they prefer, and how they want to use them (see Bernotat et al., 2016). Moreover, I investigate how to design a robot in a user-friendly manner so that it could be integrated within the intelligent apartment lab.

 

Research interests

  • Influence of gender stereotypes on language processing
  • Trust in HRI
  • Influence of user characteristics and stereotypes on HRI in Smart home contexts

 

 

Awards

ICSR 2017 Best Paper Finalist Award

 

Invited Talks

2016: „Neue Blickwinkel auf das ‚Wir‘ und ‚die Anderen‘“ („New perspectives on the ‘we’ and ‘the others’”) in seminars on healthy life by “Wissenswerkstatt” of the Impuls institute of education.

 

Teaching

Empirical seminar 2016/2017 on eye tracking studies on gender stereotypes in language processing.

Jasmin Bernotat, M.Sc.

CITEC Center of Excellence Cognitive Interaction TechnologyJasmin Bernotat
Forschungsbau
Inspiration 1 / Zehlendorfer Damm 199
33619 Bielefeld

 

 

Raum: 2.219
Telefon: +49 (0)521 106-12114
E-mail: jbernotat'at'cit-ec.uni-bielefeld.de
Sprechzeiten: nach Vereinbarung (via Email)

 

Über mich

Seit September 2015 bin ich wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin in der Arbeitseinheit „Angewandte Sozialpsychologie und Geschlechterforschung“. Als Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin bin ich in den Projekten „Cognitive Service Robotics Apartment as Ambient Host“ (CSRA) und „Experimentalpsychologische Genderforschung” tätig. Meinen Bachelor (2012) sowie meinen Master (2015) absolvierte ich im Fach Psychologie an der Universität Bielefeld. Während meines Masterstudiums war ich als studentische Hilfskraft in der Arbeitseinheit „Language & Cognition“ am CITEC und im Projekt „Soziale Mobilisierungsstrategien im Bereich des Klimaschutzes“ an der Fachhochschule Bielefeld tätig.

 

Mein Promotionsprojekt

Mein Promotionsprojekt stellt eine Schnittstelle zwischen Genderforschung, Psycholinguistik und sozialer Robotik dar. Mittels Eye Tracking, genauer mittels des Visual-World-Paradigmas (Cooper, 1974), untersuche ich, wie Genderstereotype die Sprachverarbeitung beeinflussen. Das Visual-World-Paradigma zeigt auf, dass Menschen Dinge betrachten, die sie hören. Da das, was wir hören bzw. verstehen durch unser allgemeines Weltwissen und unsere Stereotype beeinflusst wird, ist zu erwarten, dass Versuchsteilnehmende einen Mann anschauen, sobald sie ein im Satz genanntes männlich-assoziiertes Adverb hören (z.B. kompetent), bevor im Satz genannt wird, auf wen sich das Adverb bezieht (vgl. Bernotat, Guerra, Bohner, & Eyssel, 2016). Zum einen untersuche ich daher, ob gegenderte Adverbien das Blickverhalten beeinflussen. Zum anderen untersuche ich mittels des Visual-World-Paradigmas, inwiefern Roboter mit einem Geschlecht, genderstereotypen Tätigkeiten und Berufen assoziiert werden und ob gegenüber Robotern die gleichen Genderstereotype aktiviert werden wie gegenüber Menschen.

 

Meine Tätigkeit im „Cognitive Service Robotics as Ambient Host“ (CSRA)

Das CSRA ist ein interdisziplinäres Projekt, in dem Informatiker, Linguisten und Psychologen an der Implementierung eines intelligenten Apartments arbeiten. Ich leite die Evaluation Group, die für die Untersuchung der Nutzerbedürfnisse und -erwartungen zuständig ist. Ich untersuche, wie Menschen intuitiv mit einer intelligenten Umgebung interagieren, welche Kontrollsysteme sie bevorzugen und wie sie diese steuern möchten (z.B. Bernotat et al., 2016). Zudem untersuche ich, wie ein Roboter zu designen ist, der im CSRA eingesetzt werden soll.

 

Forschungsinteressen

  • Einfluss von Geschlechterstereotypen auf die Sprachverarbeitung
  • Einfluss von Nutzereigenschaften und Stereotypen auf HRI im Smart Home Kontext
  • Vertrauen in HRI

 

Awards

ICSR 2017 Best Paper Finalist Award

 

Vorträge auf Einladung

2016: „Neue Blickwinkel auf das ‚Wir‘ und ‚die Anderen‘“ im Rahmen der Seminarreihe Gesundes Leben der Wissenswerkstatt des Impuls-Bildungsforum Bielefeld

 

Lehre

Projektseminar 2016/2017: Eye Tracking Studien zum Einfluss genderstereotyper Sprache auf die Sprachverarbeitung