Applied Social Psychology and Gender Research

    

The „Applied Social Psychology and Gender Research“ Lab, supervised by Prof. Dr. Friederike Eyssel, researches social psychological aspects of human-machine-interaction. Moreover, the work group investigates determinants and consequences of gender stereotypes, sexism, sexual objectification, and sexual harassment.

 

Focusing on psychological aspects of human-machine interaction, we conduct empirical studies on evaluation, acceptance, and usability of robots and technical systems in everyday life (e.g., during robot development in the VIVA-project, in smart environments homes, in education). In this context, we investigate attitudes towards robots and intelligent systems, the perceived quality of human-machine interaction, and user behavior during the interaction. Further, we identify key factors of user acceptance of technology and their willingness to use novel technologies. In addition, we apply well-esablished concepts from social psychological research (e.g., self-disclosure, ambivalent attitudes) to human-robot interaction. By doing so, we contribute to a better understanding of psychological mechanisms that promote a successful human-technology interaction.

In our gender research we study gender stereotypes, sexism, sexual objectification and sexual harassment. For instance, we investigate predictors and consequences of sexual objectification. Functions of sexual objectification are examined at the individual, interpersonal, and the societal level. Relatedly, we investigate motives of sexual harassment, e.g., the role of harassment myths.  We use a psycholinguistic approach and eye-tracking methodology to examine the influence of gender stereotypical language on language processing and gaze behavior.

 

Overview of research topics

  • Assessment and change of attitudes towards technical systems
  • Ethical aspects of developing novel technologies
  • Social categorization processes in human-robot interaction
  • Evaluation of social robots
  • Determinants and consequences of self-discolure in human-robot interaction
  • Ambivalence in attitudes towards robots
  • Determinants of anthropomorphism and dehumanization
  • Gender stereotypes in language processing
  • Sexism
  • Sexual objectification
  • Sexual harassment and victim blaming

Angewandte Sozialpsychologie und Geschlechterforschung

Die Arbeitsgruppe "Angewandte Sozialpsychologie und Geschlechterforschung" unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Friederike Eyssel erforscht sozialpsychologische Aspekte der Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion, sowie Determinanten und Auswirkungen von Geschlechterstereotypen, Sexismus, sexueller Objektifizierung und sexueller Belästigung.

 

Unter dem Schwerpunktthema psychologische Aspekte der Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion führen wir Forschung zur Evaluation, Akzeptanz und Nutzbarkeit von Robotern und technischen Systemen in Alltagskontexten durch – z. B. in intelligente Wohnumgebungen, Lehr- und Lernkontexten und Gruppeninteraktionen. Untersucht werden beispielsweise Einstellungen gegenüber Robotern und intelligenten Systemen, die wahrgenommene Qualität der Interaktion und das menschliche Verhalten während der Interaktion. Zudem identifizieren wir zentrale Faktoren zur Förderung der Akzeptanz neuer Technologien und der Steigerung der Nutzungsbereitschaft. Hiermit tragen wir zu einem besseren Verständnis der psychologischen Mechanismen gelingender Interaktion mit Technik bei.

Der zweite Forschungsschwerpunkt unserer Arbeitsgruppe widmet sich Geschlechterstereotypen, Sexismus, sexueller Objektifizierung und sexueller Belästigung. In diesem Forschungsschwerpunkt untersuchen wir Prädiktoren von sexueller Versachlichung. Hierbei betrachten wir Funktionen von sexueller Objektifizierung auf individueller, zwischenmenschlicher und gesellschaftlicher Ebene. Darüber hinaus untersuchen wir Motive für sexuelle Belästigung, u. a. die Rolle von Belästigungsmythen. Ein weiterer Teil unserer Forschung findet an der Schnittstelle von Psychologie und Linguistik statt untersucht mittels Eye Tracking wie geschlechterstereotype Sprache das Blickverhalten beeinflusst.

 

Unsere Forschungsthemen im Überblick

  • Messung und Veränderung von Einstellungen gegenüber technischen Systemen
  • Akzeptanz von SmartHome Umgebungen
  • Ethische Aspekte neuer Technologien
  • Soziale Kategorisierungsprozesse in der Mensch-Roboter-Interaktion
  • Determinanten von Anthropomorphisierung und Dehumanisierung
  • Roboter im Bildungskontext
  • Kooperatives Lernen mit Robotern
  • Einfluss von Geschlechterstereotypen auf die Sprachverarbeitung
  • Sexismus
  • Sexuelle Objektifizierung
  • Sexuelle Belästigung und Mythen über sexuelle Belästigung